2022 Breaking Barriers Virtual Awards Gala. Thursday, April 28th, 2022, 6:30M. Images: From top left to bottom right: U.S. Rep. Jamie Raskin (Judith Heumann Champion of Justice awardee), Dr. Harolyn Belcher (Distinguished Service in Healthcare awardee), Alice Wong, Andrew Pulrang, Gregg Beratan, P.H.D (Gayle Hafner Grassroots Leadership Awardees), Keyonna Mayo, Susan Goodlaxson, and Janice Jackson (Excellence in Advocacy Leadership awardees).

Gala Photo Gallery

About DRM’s Breaking Barriers Awards Gala

The Breaking Barriers Awards Gala is Disability Rights Maryland’s (DRM) signature celebration where individuals, law firms and organizations that have demonstrated exceptional leadership, vision and achievement in safeguarding the legal rights of people with disabilities in Maryland are recognized and honored. Bringing together attorneys, corporate and foundation leaders, government representatives, and disability advocates, DRM’s gala shines a powerful spotlight on noble individuals who further the rights of Marylanders with disabilities. Funds raised at the Gala will directly support DRM and expand our capacity to provide critical legal assistance so that Marylanders with disabilities, regardless of income, age or race, can live full independent lives in the community.

One of the Most Influential Disability Rights Activists in United States History

The Champion of Justice award, established in Judith Heumann’s name, recognizes her lifelong activism and pursuit of equality and inclusion for people with disabilities.

Former President & CEO, The Leadership Conference

This award recognizes Wade Henderson for his lifetime of advocacy and passion for the civil rights and the disability rights movements.

Chairman, Consumers for Accessible Ride Services (CARS)
This award recognizes CARS for its central role in the struggle for equal access to transportation for Marylanders with disabilities. Floyd Hartley will be presented the award on behalf of the full CARS team (Debbie Benaderet, Will Fields, Imani Graham, Floyd Hartley, Marlene Hendler, Linda Merkle, Danielle Phelps, May Robinson, Valerie Smith and Kim Stevens).
Partner, Brown, Goldstein & Levy

This award honors Andrew D. Levy for his lifelong service to people with disabilities and his embodiment of the spirit and attributes that the award celebrates.

DRM's Former Honorees

2019 Honorees:
U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen, Public Policy Award
Jennifer Bruton and Daniel O’Brien, Venable; and Stephanie Hales, Sidley Austin LLP, Legal Advocacy Awards
Patti Saylor, Gayle Hafner Grassroots Advocacy Award
Erica Green, Excellence in Journalism Award

2018 Honorees:
Congressman Elijah E. Cummings, Public Policy Award
Curt Decker, Lorraine Sheehan Lifetime Achievement Award
Tatyana McFadden, Influencer Award
Regina Lee & Dominic Radcliff, Advocacy Leadership Award

2015 Honorees:
Congressman Steny H. Hoyer, Public Policy Award
Sidley Austin LLP, Legal Advocacy Award
Thomas Hicks, Gayle Hafner Grassroots Advocacy Award
Judith Heumann, Lorraine Sheehan Lifetime Achievement Award

2012 Honorees:
Maryland Senator Verna Jones-Rodwell, Public Policy Award
Maryland Senator Richard Madaleno, Public Policy Award
Raymond Marshall, Legal Advocacy Award
Kenneth Capone, Grassroots Advocacy Award

2011 Honorees:
Maryland Delegate James W. Hubbard, Public Policy Award
Venable LLP, Legal Advocacy Award
Sandra Spears, Grassroots Advocacy Award: 
U.S. Senator Benjamin L. Cardin, Lorraine Sheehan Lifetime Achievement Award

2010 Honorees:
Congressman Dutch Ruppersberger, Public Policy Award
Earl Bartgis, Jr., Legal Advocacy Award
Floyd Hartley, Grassroots Advocacy Award
Lorraine Sheehan, posthumously (presented by Senator Benjamin L. Cardin), Lifetime Achievement Award

Stay in the Loop

Join our mailing list to receive updates about Disability Rights Maryland.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap